Posts

#IMWAYR: Nubia: Real One!

Image
So many things have happened since I last posted, it's sort of absurd! I recovered from COVID, but then a few weeks later, everyone in my house got COVID again, so that was super-fun (not). I finally  got my driver's license way later than I had any reason to, so I am embarking on the thrill of car shopping! My boyfriend, who is amazing, gave me the world's cutest dog plushie. I had the same epiphany I have to have every few years, where I remember there's no point to dissecting all my anxious thoughts because that gives them credibility. It seems to be working—I've been happier the last few days! Amidst it all, I haven't really been reading, but I finally finished a graphic novel that I'm really excited to share with y'all—so let's do it! Young Adult: Nubia: Real One Written by L.L. McKinney and illustrated by Robyn Smith Graphic novel · 2021 Add it on Goodreads · Preview the illustrations · · · The publisher says: · · · Can you be a hero...if soci

Personal update!

This post does not need to exist, but I'm writing it anyway, if only because I want the full and complete story of my COVID adventure (see part 1 and part 2 ) chronicled on my blog! So I said on Sunday how I was feeling normal, and wow, I spoke WAY  too soon! Because on Monday, my almost-gone COVID turned into pneumonia, and I got to partake in all kinds  of fun symptoms including fever and congestion and some coughing and plenty of fatigue. Thankfully, the doctor prescribed antibiotics and an inhaler on Tuesday, and I'm feeling much better today—still tired and with a few symptoms, but able to function. (I finally got my haircut today!) Still, it's sort of wild how I've been sick for over two weeks straight (including the entire first week of the grad school semester). Don't get COVID, y'all, and if you do, take Paxlovid and rest hard ! But thankfully, things are meandering back to normal, and I'm so grateful for it!

MMGM and #IMWAYR: Frankie's World!

Image
Hi everyone, and happy MLK Day! After last week's COVID adventure , I am on the mend—still testing positive, unfortunately, but feeling normal except for occasional coughing and sniffles. I am so tired  of being stuck at home (there are people I want to see, and haircuts I desperately need to get!), but I'm going to hang in there. It'll be over soon! Also, I am headed back to graduate school this upcoming week, so only time will tell if I will continue blogging semi-consistently, or if I will be dropping off the face of the earth to focus on the million other things that comprise my life. Regardless, I'm glad I've been able to fit in six books, four blog posts, and some time spent in this wonderful blogosphere with you all before the winter break ends! Today, I've got a delightful middle-grade graphic novel to tell you about, so let's jump in! Middle Grade: Frankie's World Written and illustrated by Aoife Dooley Graphic novel · 2022 Book 1 of 2 ( Frankie

MMGM and #IMWAYR: Break and Solitaire!

Image
So I got COVID for the first time, which I'm not really thrilled about, I must say. My case is fairly mild, although there have definitely been ups and downs. I got on Paxlovid as fast as humanly possible, and I assume it's helping, since I trust empirical research and all that. Thanks to my mom's suggestion, warm honey water has been my best friend—the heat melts all the stupid post-nasal drip in my throat, and the honey coats and soothes all the sore spots and also adds some nice sweetness. (Why don't I eat honey more often? It's really tasty.) My mom has also  been reminding me to drink things that aren't  honey water so I don't lose all my electrolytes—thank gosh for my mom, y'all. Anyway, while my social life is entirely virtual and my body is a vessel for parasitic little demons, I figure I might as well pull my reading life together! Right before my illness, my boyfriend and I went on a lovely reading date that got me back into Solitaire , and the

Happy holidays!

Hi everyone! I'm taking Christmas off from blogging, because (a) I haven't finished any books and (b) I don't know that anyone will be stopping by on the holiday to read a blog post anyway. I do hope to finish reading Solitaire  by the new year and share about that, but I can't promise anything—I'm playing it by ear! I do have one random tidbit—I'm pretty much obsessed with an adult animated miniseries on Netflix called Carol & the End of the World , and although I can only vouch for the first 3 of the 10 episodes so far, I feel like watching it just might be the perfect Christmas gift to yourself! It's hilarious and kindhearted and deeply thoughtful, and although it is DEFINITELY NOT appropriate for kids, perhaps my adult readers will find something to love in it. This article on The Verge  is what convinced me to watch it. That's all for now! I hope everyone has the happiest of holidays, and if this season is one that brings up challenging emotions

MMGM and #IMWAYR: Look on the Bright Side and more!

Image
Hello everyone! I'm trying to think of some pithy and engaging intro to this post, but I'm failing, so there's that. Actually, wait—I remembered that I wanted to link back to last week's review of The Do-Over  in case you missed it, since that is an absolutely delightful  MG graphic novel worth adding to your list! Now let's talk about some books! Middle Grade/Young Adult: Look on the Bright Side Written by Lily Williams and Karen Schneemann, and illustrated by Lily Williams Graphic novel · 2023 Add it on Goodreads · Preview the illustrations Heads-up: I will keep this review  spoiler-free  of  Go with the Flow ! To do so, I am not including the publisher's description of the book, but you can view it here . Second heads-up: This book is about high schoolers, but it has MG energy and is completely appropriate for middle schoolers, so I'd say it fits into both MG and YA categories. This duology is a great pick for middle schoolers who are always wanting to r

MMGM and #IMWAYR: The Do-Over and more!

Image
Hello, hello! I am hours away from submitting my final assignment for my first semester of grad school (🥳), and I've finally had the chance to get back into reading for fun, thank goodness. I've missed you all, so I wanted to poke my head in today and share my reading exploits. Let's do it! Middle Grade Left to right: Florence, Millie (our protagonist), Claire, and Gabby. Dear Rosie Written and illustrated by Meghan Boehman and Rachael Briner Additional writing and coloring by Tom Pickwood Graphic novel · 2023 · · · The publisher says: · · · Seventh-grader Millie has the best friends in the whole world: Florence, Claire, Gabby, and Rosie, but when Rosie dies in a car accident everything changes. Rocked by grief, the remaining four girls struggle to move on. Millie barely understands her normal pre-teen feelings, let alone the messy ones left behind by Rosie, so she outruns her emotions by throwing herself into a mystery: a cryptic notebook abandoned at her family's lau

#IMWAYR: More Heartstopper!

Image
Just poking my head into the blog to say hello and share a quick reading update! Young Adult Heartstopper Volume 2 / Volume 3 / Volume 4 Written and illustrated by Alice Oseman Graphic novels · 2020 / 2021 / 2022 For full transparency, I'm nearing the end of Volume 4 right now, and I'm going to keep this review spoiler-free. If it gives you a sense of how deeply I have connected with these books, I just started the series last week and I'm already almost done with four books. I have literally not consumed any other media besides these books since I started (except for music), and I've already purchased one of Alice Oseman's prose novels (and we know how much I've been avoiding prose novels lately), with plans to buy literally all  of them and become an Alice Oseman superfan. I'm in complete awe. I feel like my understanding of human existence and love has expanded more in the last week than it had in actual months and months, thanks to these books. The thin

MMGM and #IMWAYR: Beetle & the Hollowbones and Heartstopper!

Image
Hi hi! This is a very sudden blog post—I've been thinking semi-deeply about what I want to do with this blog in the future, but I also realize I should quit agonizing over that and instead squeal about some books on the Internet. And I must say, assembling this post delivered the most wonderful short-term emotional benefit—I hope reading it will do the same, so let's dive in! Middle Grade: Beetle & the Hollowbones Written and illustrated by Aliza Layne Graphic novel · 2020 · Re-review ( see my original review ) · · · The publisher says: · · · A Stonewall Honor Book An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall—perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time . In the eerie town of ‘Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity. Then there’s twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, w

MMGM and #IMWAYR: The Lost Library!

Image
Why, hello there! It's been a busy few weeks for me, but I'm mostly getting accustomed to grad school. On one hand, I feel like I'm less anxious than I've ever been at the start of a semester—on the other hand, that certainly doesn't mean I'm not anxious! Anyway, I'm glad to poke my head out to share a few random thoughts with you, as well as a review of a book that nothing was going to prevent me from reading... Let's dive in! Middle Grade: The Lost Library Written by Rebecca Stead and Wendy Mass 2023 Add it on Goodreads · · · The publisher says: · · · When a mysterious little free library (guarded by a large orange cat) appears overnight in the small town of Martinville, eleven-year-old Evan plucks two weathered books from its shelves, never suspecting that his life is about to change.  Evan and his best friend Rafe quickly discover a link between one of the old books and a long-ago event that none of the grown-ups want to talk about. The two boys star